The Chicks Return After 14 Years With New Album, “Gaslighter” [Watch New Video, “Sleep at Night”]

Natalie Maines, Martie Maguire and Emily Strayer of The Chicks are back with their first new album in 14 years, Gaslighter, which dropped on July 17.

The trio’s eighth studio album was originally slated to be released on May 1, but it was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Chicks most recent album, 2006’s Taking the Long Way, earned the trio three Grammy Awards.

The trio had a hand in writing 10 songs on the new 12-song offering (Natalie has an additional co-write on “Julianna Calm Down”). Much of the new album’s subject matter centers around Natalie’s divorce from actor Adrian Pasdar, which was finalized this year after a lengthy legal battle.

The Chicks released a stylized new video for “Sleep at Night,” a tune they co-penned with Teddy Geiger and Justin Tranter. The song features Natalie singing: My husband’s girlfriend’s husband just called me up / How messed up is that / It’s so insane that I have to laugh / But then I think about our two boys trying to become men / There’s nothing funny about that.”

Watch the new video for “Sleep at Night.”

Gaslighter Tracklist
1. “Gaslighter”
2. “Sleep at Night”
3. “Texas Man”
4. “Everybody Loves You”
5. “For Her”
6. “March March”
7. “My Best Friend’s Weddings”
8. “Tights on My Boat”
9. “Julianna Calm Down”
10. “Young Man”
11. “Hope It’s Something Good”
12. “Set Me Free”

photo by